Apotheosis of Music in the Kingdom of Naples

Sigismondo, Giuseppe Bacciagaluppi, Claudio; Giovani, Giulia; Mellace, Raffaele (eds.) (2016). Apotheosis of Music in the Kingdom of Naples [Edited Textbook] . Roma: Società Editrice di Musicologia

Full text not available from this repository. (Request a copy)

The Apotheosis of Music by Giuseppe Sigismondo (1739-1826) is an essential work for those undertaking the study of Neapolitan musical repertoire from the 18th century and of the collection from the library of the ‘San Pietro a Majella’ Conservatoire in Naples. It served as a model for the historiographies by the marquis of Villarosa (Lettera biografica intorno alla patria ed alla vita di Gio. Battista Pergolese, 1831; Memorie dei compositori di musica del Regno di Napoli, 1840), by Francesco Florimo (Cenno storico sulla Scuola musicale di Napoli, 1869-70; La scuola musicale di Napoli e i suoi conservatori, 1881-83) and by Salvatore di Giacomo (Il Conservatorio di Sant’Onofrio a Capuana e quello di S.M. della Pietà dei Turchini, 1924; Il Conservatorio dei Poveri di Gesù Cristo e quello di Loreto, 1928). The Apotheosis was originally conceived to be published and is frequently quoted in studies on musicians of the Neapolitan school, but it is rarely consulted in its entirety. The four manuscript tomes of The Apotheosis of Music are currently preserved in the Staatsbibliothek in Berlin, having arrived there after passing through the collections of Franz Sales Kandler (1792-1831), Aloys Fuchs (1799-1853) and Georg Pölchau (1773-1836). The first tome consists of 198 pages containing the musical autobiography of the author, annotations on sacred music and opera theatres and considerations about the partial decadence of music in Naples in the 19th century. The second tome consists of 304 pages on the founding of the first public musical library in the Conservatoire of ‘La Pietà dei Turchini’ and on the history of the four music conservatoires and their music masters. The third tome consists of 308 pages and includes eulogies of Orazio Vecchi, Tomaso Carapella, Egidio Duni, Leonardo Vinci, Giovan Battista Pergolesi, Nicolò Porpora and Domenico Cimarosa. The fourth tome, 284 pages long, comprises the eulogies of Francesco Mancini, Pasquale Cafaro, Antonio Sacchini, Leonardo Leo, Francesco Durante, Tommaso Traetta, Nicola Sala, Nicolò Piccinni and various annotations on the Neapolitan School. The modern edition of the Apotheosis of Music will allow scholars to comfortably access information of fundamental importance about composers from the Neapolitan School, vocal pedagogy, musical venues in Naples and the founding corpus of the collection in the library of the ‘San Pietro a Majella’ Conservatoire.

Item Type:

Book (Edited Textbook)


Bern Academy of the Arts
Bern Academy of the Arts > Institute Interpretation


Sigismondo, Giuseppe;
Bacciagaluppi, Claudio0000-0003-4376-2809;
Giovani, Giulia;
Mellace, Raffaele and
Scaldini, Beatrice


M Music and Books on Music > ML Literature of music




Società Editrice di Musicologia




Daniel Allenbach

Date Deposited:

25 Nov 2020 12:57

Last Modified:

18 Dec 2020 13:30

Related URLs:

Additional Information:

ISBN e-Book: 978-88-94150-47-6



Actions (login required)

View Item View Item
Provide Feedback